USC Price School of Public Policy

Giuliano Named Distinguished Researcher

Giuliano Named Distinguished Researcher

By Merrill Balassone

Genevieve Giuliano

Genevieve Giuliano, professor and transportation researcher at the USC Sol Price School of Public Policy, has been chosen to receive the Distinguished Researcher Award, an honor that includes two Nobel Prize winners among its past recipients, from the Transportation Research Forum.

Giuliano is the first woman to receive the award in its 35-year history. She accepted the award in Tampa, Fla., on March 16.

“I am very proud that Gen’s extraordinary work has been recognized through this honor,” USC Price dean Jack H. Knott said.

Knott said the organization noted Giuliano for the “high impact of her work,” including more than 100-peer reviewed articles and more than $21 million in external research funding.

Giuliano’s wide-ranging research includes the study of relationships between land use and transportation, evolution of metropolitan land use patterns, public transit policy, impacts of transportation-demand management strategies and international comparisons of metropolitan growth and travel patterns.

The professor’s impact comes in part from questioning conventional wisdom. Her work has demonstrated that large public transportation systems are not more efficient, that declining productivity is a consequence of public transit subsidy policy and that theories of how residence and workplace are related are not borne out by the reality of commute patterns and spatial organization of cities.

Giuliano came to USC in 1988. She is a professor and senior associate dean of research and technology at USC Price and director of the METRANS Transportation Center, a partnership between USC and California State University, Long Beach. She was named holder of the Margaret and John Ferraro Chair in Effective Local Government in 2009 for her work in regional transportation policy. She also holds courtesy appointments in civil engineering and geography.

She was named a national associate of the National Academy of Sciences in 2003 and received the Transportation Research Board’s W. N. Carey Jr. Distinguished Service Award in 2006 and the Thomas B. Deen Distinguished Lectureship in 2007. She has participated in several National Academies of Sciences policy studies, most recently collaborating on a report on limiting the magnitude of future climate change.

Past recipients of the Distinguished Researcher Award include Nobel Prize-winning economist Daniel McFadden, who in 2011 was appointed the Presidential Professor of Health Economics at USC, with appointments at USC Price and the Department of Economics at the USC Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences.