2017 USC Price Academic Awards

June 15, 2017

Undergraduate Awards

Class Valedictorian
Griffin Reese Kantz

USC Global Scholar
University-wide program, designed to encourage students to become outstanding world-citizens, while preparing them to navigate our increasingly-interdependent community
Braulio Nicolas Hoyos, Sunghea Khil, Nika Debora Shahery

USC Steven and Kathryn Sample Renaissance Scholar
Recognizes USC undergraduates who have excelled academically while pursuing at least two widely separated fields of study
Alexia Garcia, Griffin Reese Kantz, Emily Ruth Moneymaker, Audrey Ellen Peterson, Laura Marie Reilly, Nika Debora Shahery

USC Discovery Scholar
Recognizes students who excel in the classroom and display the ability to create exceptional new scholarship or artistic works
Soobin Kim

Etzioni Bianchi Community Service Award
Awarded to an outstanding graduating senior in recognition of excellence in community service and volunteerism
Juliana Roger

Emery E. Olson Award
Awarded to the outstanding graduating senior in recognition of excellence in scholarship and leadership potential
Nika Debora Shahery

MHA Awards

Master of Health Administration Outstanding Student Awards
Awarded to students who demonstrate exceptional promise in the areas of service, commitment, leadership, and advocacy

  • In recognition of excellence in service:
    Kali Hoang
  • In recognition of excellence in advocacy:
    Will Stein
  • In recognition of excellence in commitment:
    Renee Kumra
  • In recognition of excellence in leadership:
    Clare O’Mara

MPA Awards

John Randolph and Dora Haynes Foundation Award for Outstanding MPA Capstone Project
Kristin Marie Butts, Margaret Elaine Ferrill, Kristina Kolesa Hummel, Steven James Ozinga
“Austria and the Refugee Crisis: An Analysis of American Sentiment in Social versus Print Media”
Prepared for: Embassy of Austria to the United States
Faculty supervisor: Dr. Dora Vertenten

Dr. Shui Yan Tang Award For An Aspiring Local Government Professional
Awarded to the graduating MPA student who best exhibits the commitment, enthusiasm, and achievement meeting the spirit of service exemplified by Dr. Yan Tang
Angela Hana Cho

MPP Awards

Jane G. Pisano Award for Exemplary Community Service
Anisha Hingorani

Robert P. Biller Award for Excellence in the Practicum
Jacob Denney, Celia Guo, Ellen Lawther, Britney Wise
“Reducing Officer Involved Shootings in Fresno, California”
Client: American Civil Liberties Union

Master of International Public Policy and Management (IPPAM)

Sitti Safarah Memorial Award
Awarded to outstanding graduating IPPAM students in recognition of dedicated community service and professional promise in international development
Ani Apyan, Hussein Heykal

Dollinger MRED Awards

Dollinger Master of Real Estate Development Comprehensive Examination Prize for Outstanding Achievement
Marc Cucco, Randolph Wolters

MRED Program Distinction in Memory of Professor Rena Sivitanidou
Recognizes exceptional academic and professional engagement while pursuing the Dollinger MRED degree
Michelle Bates, Tomoka Hayashi

D.J. Moore Award for Exceptional Professional Promise
Marc Cucco

MPL Awards

AICP Award
Awarded to student for outstanding attainment in study of planning
Gwendolyn von Klan

Gordon Whitnall Award
For outstanding academic achievement in planning
Derek Hung

MPL Program First Year Academic Achievement and Promise
Awarded to first year MPL student recognizing academic achievement and promise
Garrett Rapsilber

MPL Program Graduating Student for Meritorious Achievement
Awarded to a graduating MPL student recognizing meritorious achievement in MPL program
Anna Evans-Goldstein

Lowdon Wingo Prize
Awarded to a student in planning and development for exemplary academic achievement
Katherine Buck

Lewis Mumford Prize
Awarded to an undergraduate or graduate student in planning for the most outstanding essay in planning history
Ni An, Matt Garron, Jason King, Andrea Maldonado-Lopez, Jessica Reyes (“Downtown Los Angeles Community Plan: A History of Displacement”)

MPL Comprehensive Examination Prize for Outstanding Achievement
Recognizes those who have earned honors on the MPL Comprehensive Examination

  • Economic Development:
    Kora McNaughton, Max Sherman
  • Preservation and Design of the Built Environment:
    Tiffany Swift
  • Social and Community Planning:
    Anna Evans-Goldstein
  • Sustainable Land Use Planning:
    Courtney Holt, Sabrina Church
  • Transportation and Infrastructure Planning:
    Andrew Griffin

Doctoral Awards


John Dyckman Dissertation Award
Awarded to the graduating Ph.D. student in planning who has produced the best dissertation
Arthur Acolin
“Three Essays on Frictions in Housing Markets”
Dissertation Chair: Dr. Raphael Bostic

Henry Reining, Jr. Dissertation Award
Awarded to the graduating Ph.D. student in public administration/public policy who has produced the best dissertation
Vincent Reina
“The Impact of Mobility and Government Rental Subsidies on the Welfare of Households and Affordable Markets”
Dissertation Chair: Dr. Gary Painter and Dr. Raphael Bostic

Professional Doctorate

Doctor of Policy, Planning, and Development Outstanding Project Award
Awarded to the DPPD graduate(s) who produced the best project
John Lee Drake
“A Public Sector Strategic Planning Model: Prioritizing a Community-Focused, Inclusive, and Collaborative Approach”
Faculty Chair: Dr. Debbie Natoli